Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


‘High School Musical’ Gold Vinyl (review)

Get’cha head in the game, Disney fans. There’s a must-have, limited-edition vinyl record release from Walt Disney Records now available for a limited time.

In 2006, when the Disney Channel debuted the game-changer that is High School Musical, who would have thunk of the slam dunk vinyl records would be in 2018?

In fact, Vinyl is “much bigger than we thought,” says Forbes. Largely driven by online and specialty retailers, like Urban Outfitters, Barnes & Noble and of course online sales, 2017 marked the 12th year of consecutive growth for vinyl album sales, according to Nielsen Music.

Just how big since 2006?  Try 1062% bigger, from $34 million in total revenue to last year’s account of nearly $395 million.  That’s just sales of new records, not even accounting for the increase in used albums on eBay and your local record shop.

Disney is one of a handful of corporations that gets nostalgia, and not just from their licensing efforts to major consumer goods partners like Funko, Vans, and Jansport. The company consistently pushes our nostalgic love of the Mouse House in their parks, promotions and entertainment platforms.

Over the past few years, Walt Disney Records has put out some fantastic vinyl editions of their biggest titles, and even reissued some more obscure classics.  Their “Music Emporium” has a great selection of titles, and even the CDs are worth looking into.

But this gold-colored vinyl release, limited to only 5,000 copies, is exclusively being sold at Urban Outfitters, targeted at the kids-turned-young-adults who shop there (not to mention a few of us aging hipsters that still wanna see what the kids are up to).

Because record sales were so dismal in 2006, this is the very first time the soundtrack has been available on vinyl. Revisiting the unmistakingly catchy songs on the arguably superior over CD format is a blast for the ears as well as the nostalgic mind.

Track listing is as follows:

Side A

  1. Start of Something New – Troy and Gabriella
  2. Get’cha Head in the Game – Troy and Ray Cham
  3. What I’ve Been Looking For – Ryan and Sharpay
  4. What I’ve Been Looking For (Reprise) – Troy and Gabriella
  5. Stick to the Status Quo – High School Musical Cast and David Lawrence
  6. When There Was Me and You – Vanessa Hudgens

Side B

  1. Bop To The Top – Ryan and Sharpay
  2. Breaking Free – Troy and Gabriella
  3. We’re All In This Together – High School Musical Cast
  4. I Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You – Troy, Ryan, Gabriella and Sharpay
  5. Get’cha Head in the Game – B5

You can order the vinyl HERE


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


Forces of Geek is protected from liability under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and “Safe Harbor” provisions.

All posts are submitted by volunteer contributors who have agreed to our Code of Conduct.

FOG! will disable users who knowingly commit plagiarism, piracy, trademark or copyright infringement.

Please contact us for expeditious removal of copyrighted/trademarked content.


In many cases free copies of media and merchandise were provided in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions shared on Forces of Geek are those of the individual author.

You May Also Like


Written by Lewis Trondheim Art by Nicolas Kéramidas Published by Fantagraphics Books   Mickey and Donald’s Craziest Adventures, originally published in English, we are...


Written by Francesco Artibani Art by Lorenzo Pastrovicchio, Claudio Sciarrone, David Gerstein Published by Fantagraphics Books   Foreign comics creators have long respected Disney...


Disney has been celebrating 100 years of its particular brand of storytelling magic. Children and adults alike have been delighted by their versions of...


There are some fantasy, science fiction, and horror films that not every fan has caught. Not every film ever made has been seen by...