Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

General

TRIPLE SHOT DIGITAL: Comixology Submit Presents THE HAMMER OF ARGUS #1, LOVE IS A BURNING THING #1 and ROCKET QUEEN AND THE WRENCH #1

There’s an easy to pronounce mighty hammer in this heroes’ book set in Greece with The Hammer of Argus, plus a bad boy super-soldier in Love is a Burning Thing. The Zoom Family hosts Jamie Baldwin for the summer, will he get his own armored adventures in Rocket Queen and the Wrench?

The leader in the digital comics space opened up the platform to indie creators back in March of this year. Writers and artists now have the chance to publish comics or graphic novels on the browser, tablet or phone using the Guided View technology. Comixology curates the submissions and soon the comic is put into panel by panel production for the viewer. The comics appear right on the digital store alongside all of the major publisher’s books.

THE HAMMER OF ARGUS #1
Writer: Christopher Nelson
Artist/Editor: Ernesto Lopez de Victoria
Price: $1.99
Page Count: 27 pages
Imprint: Bearmoon Comics
Digital Release Date: 5/15/13
Age Rating: 17+ only
BUY IT HERE

Rendered on a computer in a unique and colorful CGI style is this great foray into mashing up mythology and comics—a tradition nearly as old as the medium!

The thief Brutus finds his way into the ancient forge of Argus the Cyclops.

For fans of Thor, Hercules, Percy Jackson and fun stories of the Olympian Gods. The art is the standout for this book, the 3D rendering makes for larger than life storytelling and great action.

LOVE IS A BURNING THING #1
Writer: Gray Gunter
Artist: Brent Peeples
Price: $.99
Imprint: Graybear Comics
Page Count: 52 Pages
Digital Release Date: 6/26/13
Age Rating: 15+ Only
BUY IT HERE

Love is a Burning Thing hits it out of the park with great storytelling, art and twists on the super soldier trope that keeps it interesting.

Benji and Jess were the most badass Sid & Nancy robbers in town before the police got a hold of them after a run.

Benji’s reform might make him a dangerous weapon, but is he the match for his ultimate foe?

For fans of OMAC, Red, Captain America and Hawk and Dove.

ROCKET QUEEN AND THE WRENCH #1
Writer: Justin Peniston
Writer: Ramanda Kamarga
Price: $.99
Page Count: 23 Pages
Digital Release Date: 6/5/13
Age Rating: 9+ Only
BUY IT HERE

Part Iron Man: Armored Adventures and part manga school life book, Rocket Queen and the Wrench is a family adventure book with cool mechanical robot suits.

Jamie isn’t too thrilled to be living with his estranged dad and going to summer school, but some poking around below the Darian Estate reveals secrets of the Zoom Family.

Maybe he’ll stick out the extra classes after all!

Super fun all ages (9+) book with great mech art and fun kids to grow up with here.

A successful merge of American and manga comics styles.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

DISCLAIMER

Forces of Geek is protected from liability under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and “Safe Harbor” provisions.

All posts are submitted by volunteer contributors who have agreed to our Code of Conduct.

FOG! will disable users who knowingly commit plagiarism, piracy, trademark or copyright infringement.

Please contact us for expeditious removal of copyrighted/trademarked content.

SOCIAL INFLUENCER POLICY

In many cases free copies of media and merchandise were provided in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions shared on Forces of Geek are those of the individual author.

You May Also Like

Books/Comics

Written and Illustrated by Andrew Kranke Published by Image Comics   I had no idea what to expect when I picked up this book....

Books/Comics

Written and Illustrated by Kyle Starks Colors by Chris Schweitzer Published by Image Comics   Writer and artist Kyle Starks really is a wonder...

Books/Comics

Written by Chris Condon Art by Jacob Phillips Published by Image Comics   In the vast realm of comic book history, few narratives captivate...

Books/Comics

Written by Dan Abnett  Art by I.N.J. Culbard Published by BOOM! Studios   BOOM! Studios’ Wild’s End, created by Dan Abnett and I.N.J. Culbard,...