Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

General

TRIPLE SHOT DIGITAL:
Comixology Submit Presents TALES FROM THE VOID # 1, WIDOWED #1, BLOOD BLOKES #1

ComiXology Submit titles for this week take us to the dark side of the moon, the dark side of a woman scorned and the dark side of Manchester’s vampire nightlife.

The leader in the digital comics space opened up the platform to indie creators back in March of this year.

Writers and artists now have the chance to publish comics or graphic novels on the browser, tablet or phone using the Guided View technology. Comixology  curates the submissions and soon the comic is put into panel by panel production for the viewer. The comics appear right on the digital store alongside all of the major publisher’s books.

TALES FROM THE VOID # 1
Written by: Darrin O’Toole
Art by: A. Kaviraj
Price: $3.99
Page Count: 26 pages
Digital Release Date: 6/26/13
Age Rating: All Ages
BUY IT HERE

For fans of…comics!

This is an anthology book, with the same creative team tackling 5 sci-fi and superhero short stories in one quick volume.

For fans of Amazing Stories, Twilight Zone and pulp sci-fi, these are very satisfying morsels and complete stories in a short form.

The last story combines the Tarzan tale with the Superman origin with a shocker ending. Great stuff!

WIDOWED #1
Writer: Adam Wollet
Artist: Marcelo Salaza
Price: $1.99
Page Count: 26 Pages
Digital Release Date: 6/5/13
Age Rating: 15+ Only
BUY IT HERE

Widowed #1 is an impressive book on many levels.

Putting a female lead into the violent revenge hero role is a welcome turn on the Punisher trope.

Rose witnesses her husband’s murder at the hands of the serial killer dubbed ‘The Widowmaker’.

Rose leaves any sense of a real family life behind, haunted by what she’s seen. By the end of the first issue, we’re rooting for her to get revenge on her husband’s killer.

Great storytelling and art—a story worth pitching to bigger comic companies, but available to all on the ComiXology app via Submit. We look forward to more.

BLOOD BLOKES #1 (of 6)
Writer and Artist: Adam Caldwell
Price: $1.99
Page Count: 26 Pages
Digital Release Date: 3/6/13
Age Rating: 17+ Only
BUY IT HERE

Some millennia start off with you quitting your dead end job, your girlfriend killing your relationship and passing the wrong goth club.

NYE for Vin takes a Trainspotting by way of Phonogram turn as he gets attacked by a freed vampire bat on his walk home. This slacker vampire series is of to a killer start, with lots of music and pop culture references including a cameo by blues punk one man band Bob Log III.

Up next: more vampires as Vin awakes in a coven!

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

DISCLAIMER

Forces of Geek is protected from liability under the DMCA (Digital Millenium Copyright Act) and “Safe Harbor” provisions.

All posts are submitted by volunteer contributors who have agreed to our Code of Conduct.

FOG! will disable users who knowingly commit plagiarism, piracy, trademark or copyright infringement.

Please contact us for expeditious removal of copyrighted/trademarked content.

SOCIAL INFLUENCER POLICY

In many cases free copies of media and merchandise were provided in exchange for an unbiased and honest review. The opinions shared on Forces of Geek are those of the individual author.

You May Also Like

Books/Comics

Written and Illustrated by Andrew Kranke Published by Image Comics   I had no idea what to expect when I picked up this book....

Books/Comics

Written and Illustrated by Kyle Starks Colors by Chris Schweitzer Published by Image Comics   Writer and artist Kyle Starks really is a wonder...

Books/Comics

Written by Chris Condon Art by Jacob Phillips Published by Image Comics   In the vast realm of comic book history, few narratives captivate...

Books/Comics

Written by Dan Abnett  Art by I.N.J. Culbard Published by BOOM! Studios   BOOM! Studios’ Wild’s End, created by Dan Abnett and I.N.J. Culbard,...